Contents lists available at SciVerse ScienceDirect



Surface & Coatings Technology

journal homepage: www.elsevier.com/locate/surfcoat

Editorial ICMCTF 2011 — Preface

The 38th International Conference on Metallurgical Coatings and Thin Films (ICMCTF) sponsored by the Advanced Surface Engineering Division (ASED) of the American Vacuum Society (AVS) was held from May 2 to May 6, 2011 in San Diego, California.

The technical program consisted of 61 technical sessions which were organized into 14 symposia. The conference also included a Plenary session, a Keynote session, a poster session, 4 focused topical sessions, 4 short courses, and an industrial exhibition, displaying in 60 booths the latest developments in vacuum science and plasma based deposition technologies.

The conference was opened with a Plenary Lecture by Prof. Joseph Greene from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign on "Fundamental Properties of Transition Metal Nitrides and Design Strategies for Growth of Self-Organized Nitride Nanostructures". An Exhibitor Keynote Lecture was given by Dr. William D. Sproul, Reactive Sputtering. Inc., San Marcos, California, and Colorado School of Mines on "Reactive Sputtering: Evolution, Development and Latest Trends".

Prof. Stan Veprek from the Technical University Munich, Germany, was the recipient of the ASED R.F. Bunshah Annual Award; he presented an Honorary Lecture on "Search for New Superhard Materials: Go Nano!". He was honored for his seminal work in the development of novel hard nanocomposite coatings. The ASED Annual ICMCTF Graduate Student Awards were presented to Mr. Konrad Fadenberger (Gold Medal) from the University of Cyprus, Cyprus, Mr. Valentim Barao (Silver Medal) from the University Estadual Paulista, Brazil, and Mr. Songbo Wei (Bronze Medal) from Tsinghua University, China.

The electronic submission and handling of manuscripts via the Elsevier Editorial System (EES), including the selection of reviewers and evaluation of manuscripts, were identical to the procedures applied to manuscripts submitted as regular contributions for publication in international scientific journals. Following the tradition practiced since 1987, the accepted manuscripts are published in the

archival journals *Surface and Coatings Technology* and *Thin Solid Films*. The novelty for the current ICMCTF proceedings is that papers are open-access for one year (via the Elsevier journals' web sites).

The organization of a conference and preparation of proceedings volumes require the dedicated effort of many people: the General Chair Prof. Steve J. Bull from Newcastle University, UK, and the Program Chair Dr. Ali Erdemir, Argonne National Laboratory, USA, lead a large team of symposia and session chairs to compose an exciting technical program. We also acknowledge, with thanks, the hundreds of reviewers for their timely submission of quality reports. We express our sincere thanks to all authors for their presentations.

The 39th International Conference on Metallurgical Coatings and Thin Films (ICMCTF 2012) will be held in San Diego, California, April 23–27, 2012 with Dr. Ali Erdemir as the General Chair and Prof. Paul Mayrhofer, Montan University Leoben, Austria, as the Program Chair.

> Gregory Abadias Proceedings Editor

Christopher Muratore Proceedings Editor

> Ivan Petrov Proceedings Editor

Claus Rebholz Proceedings Editor

StuberMichael Stüber Proceedings Editor

18 October 2011

Contents lists available at SciVerse ScienceDirect



Thin Solid Films

journal homepage: www.elsevier.com/locate/tsf

Preface ICMCTF 2011 — Preface

The 38th International Conference on Metallurgical Coatings and Thin Films (ICMCTF) sponsored by the Advanced Surface Engineering Division (ASED) of the American Vacuum Society (AVS) was held May 2 to May 6, 2011 in San Diego, California.

The technical program consisted of 61 technical sessions which were organized into 14 symposia. The conference also included a plenary session, a keynote session, a poster session, 4 focused topical sessions, 4 short courses, and an industrial exhibition, displaying in 60 booths the latest developments in vacuum science and plasma based deposition technologies.

The conference was opened with a Plenary Lecture by Prof. Joseph Greene from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign on "Fundamental Properties of Transition Metal Nitrides and Design Strategies for Growth of Self-Organized Nitride Nanostructures". An Exhibitor Keynote Lecture was given by Dr. William D. Sproul, Reactive Sputtering, Inc., San Marcos, California, and Colorado School of Mines on "Reactive Sputtering: Evolution, Development and Latest Trends".

Prof. Stan Veprek from the Technical University Munich, Germany, was the recipient of the ASED R.F. Bunshah Annual Award; he presented an Honorary Lecture on "Search for New Superhard Materials: Go Nano!". He was honored for his seminal work in the development of novel hard nanocomposite coatings. The ASED Annual ICMCTF Graduate Student Awards were presented to Mr. Konrad Fadenberger (Gold Medal) from the University of Cyprus, Cyprus, Mr. Valentim Barao (Silver Medal) from the University Estadual Paulista, Brazil, and Mr. Songbo Wei (Bronze Medal) from Tsinghua University, China.

The electronic submission and handling of manuscripts via the Elsevier Editorial System (EES), including the selection of reviewers and evaluation of manuscripts, were identical to the procedures applied to manuscripts submitted as regular contributions for publication in international scientific journals. Following the tradition practiced since 1987, the accepted manuscripts are published in the archival journals *Surface and Coatings Technology* and *Thin Solid Films*. The novelty for the current ICMCTF proceedings is that papers are open-access for 1 year (via the Elsevier journals' web sites).

The organization of a conference and preparation of proceedings volumes require the dedicated effort of many people: the General Chair Prof. Steve J. Bull from Newcastle University, UK, and the Program Chair Dr. Ali Erdemir, Argonne National Laboratory, USA, lead a large team of symposia and session chairs to compose an exciting technical program. We also acknowledge, with thanks, the hundreds of reviewers for their timely submission of quality reports. We express our sincere thanks to all authors for their presentations.

The 39th International Conference on Metallurgical Coatings and Thin Films (ICMCTF 2012) will be held in San Diego, California, April 23–27, 2012 with Dr. Ali Erdemir as the General Chair and Prof. Paul Mayrhofer, Montan University Leoben, Austria, as the Program Chair.

> Proceedings Editors: Gregory Abadias Christopher Muratore Ivan Petrov Claus Rebholz Michael Stüber