Contents lists available at ScienceDirect

Surface & Coatings Technology

journal homepage: www.elsevier.com/locate/surfcoat



ICMCTF 2013 - Preface

The 40th International Conference on Metallurgical Coatings and Thin Films (ICMCTF) sponsored by the Advanced Surface Engineering Division (ASED) of the American Vacuum Society (AVS) was held April 29 to May 3, 2013 in San Diego, California.

The technical program consisted of 56 technical sessions which were organized into 11 symposia. The conference included a Plenary Lecture, an Exhibition Keynote Lecture, a poster session, 4 focused topical sessions, 4 short courses, and an industrial exhibition. Exhibitors displayed in more than 50 booths the most recent developments in vacuum science and plasma based deposition technologies.

The conference opened with a Plenary Lecture by Prof. Tobin Marks, Vladimir N. Ipatieff Professor of Catalytic Chemistry and Professor of Materials Science and Engineering at Northwestern University in Evanston, Illinois, U.S.A., on "Designer Materials for Unconventional Electronics". The Exhibition Keynote Lecture was given by Prof. Françoise Massines, Director of Research at CNRS, Perpignan, France, on "Atmospheric Pressure Plasmas for Inline Coatings: Status and Challenges".

Dr. William B. Sproul from the Colorado School of Mines, Golden, Colorado, U.S.A. and founder of Reactive Sputtering Inc., San Marcos, California, U.S.A., was the recipient of the ASED R.F. Bunshah Annual Award; he presented an Honorary Lecture on "40 Years of Advancement in PVD Technology". He received this award to recognize and honor his seminal contributions in the development of high rate, large area, multiple gas reactive sputter deposition. The ASED Annual ICMCTF Graduate Student Awards were presented to Dominik Jaeger (Gold Medal) from Empa, Swiss Federal Laboratories for Materials Science and Technology, Switzerland, Manfred Schlögl (Silver Medal) from the Technical University of Vienna, Austria, and D'Arcy Stone (Bronze Medal) from Southern Illinois University, Carbondale, U.S.A.

The electronic submission and handling of manuscripts via the Elsevier Editorial System (EES), including the selection of reviewers and evaluation of manuscripts, were identical to the procedures applied to manuscripts submitted as regular contributions for publication in international scientific journals. Following the tradition practiced since 1987, the accepted manuscripts are published in two archival journals:

Surface and Coatings Technology and Thin Solid Films. Current ICMCTF proceedings are open-access for one year via the Elsevier journals' web sites.

The organization of this conference and the preparation of proceedings volumes would have been impossible without the tremendous efforts and dedication of many individuals, which include: the General Chair Prof. Paul Mayrhofer from Vienna University of Technology, Austria, and the Program Chair Prof. Yip-Wah Chung from Northwestern University, Evanston, Illinois, U.S.A., who oversaw the organization of the conference and the program; the large team of symposia and session chairs that made possible the realization of an exciting technical program; and the support of hundreds of reviewers with their timely submission of quality reports. We express our sincere thanks to all authors and presenters for their contributions. We also thank our sponsors very much for their generous support.

The 41st International Conference on Metallurgical Coatings and Thin Films (ICMCTF 2014) will be held in San Diego, California, April 28 – May 2, 2014 with Prof. Yip-Wah Chung, Northwestern University, Evanston, Illinois, U.S.A., as the General Chair and Prof. Claus Rebholz, University of Cyprus, Cyprus as the Program Chair.

Samir Aouadi Esteban Broitman Suneel Kodambaka Michael Stüber Stan Veprek Proceedings Editors

Ivan Petrov Publications Chair FISEVIER

Contents lists available at ScienceDirect

Thin Solid Films

journal homepage: www.elsevier.com/locate/tsf



Preface

ICMCTF 2013 — Preface

The 40th International Conference on Metallurgical Coatings and Thin Films (ICMCTF) sponsored by the Advanced Surface Engineering Division (ASED) of the American Vacuum Society (AVS) was held April 29 to May 3, 2013 in San Diego, California.

The technical program consisted of 56 technical sessions which were organized into 11 symposia. The conference included a Plenary Lecture, an Exhibition Keynote Lecture, a poster session, 4 focused topical sessions, 4 short courses, and an industrial exhibition. Exhibitors displayed in more than 50 booths the most recent developments in vacuum science and plasma based deposition technologies.

The conference opened with a Plenary Lecture by Prof. Tobin Marks, and Vladimir N. Ipatieff, Professor of Catalytic Chemistry and Professor of Materials Science and Engineering at Northwestern University in Evanston, Illinois, U.S.A., on "Designer Materials for Unconventional Electronics". The Exhibition Keynote Lecture, on "Atmospheric Pressure Plasmas for Inline Coatings: Status and Challenges" was given by Prof. Françoise Massines, Director of Research at CNRS, Perpignan, France.

Dr. William B. Sproul from the Colorado School of Mines, Golden, Colorado, U.S.A. and founder of Reactive Sputtering Inc., San Marcos, California, U.S.A., was the recipient of the ASED R.F. Bunshah Annual Award; he presented an Honorary Lecture on "40 Years of Advancement in PVD Technology". He received this award to recognize and honor his seminal contributions in the development of high rate, large area, multiple gas reactive sputter deposition. The ASED Annual ICMCTF Graduate Student Awards were presented to Dominik Jaeger (Gold Medal) from Empa, Swiss Federal Laboratories for Materials Science and Technology, Switzerland, Manfred Schlögl (Silver Medal) from the Technical University of Vienna, Austria, and D'Arcy Stone (Bronze Medal) from Southern Illinois University, Carbondale, U.S.A.

The electronic submission and handling of manuscripts via the Elsevier Editorial System (EES), including the selection of reviewers and evaluation of manuscripts, were identical to the procedures applied to manuscripts submitted as regular contributions for publication in

international scientific journals. Following the tradition practiced since 1987, the accepted manuscripts are published in two archival journals: *Surface and Coatings Technology* and *Thin Solid Films*. Current ICMCTF proceedings are open-access for one year via the Elsevier journals' web sites.

The organization of this conference and the preparation of proceedings volumes would have been impossible without the tremendous efforts and dedication of many individuals, which include: the General Chair Prof. Paul Mayrhofer from Vienna University of Technology, Austria, and the Program Chair Prof. Yip-Wah Chung from Northwestern University, Evanston, Illinois, U.S.A., who oversaw the organization of the conference and the program; the large team of symposia and session chairs that made possible the realization of an exciting technical program; and the support of hundreds of reviewers with their timely submission of quality reports. We express our sincere thanks to all authors and presenters for their contributions. We also thank our sponsors very much for their generous support.

The 41st International Conference on Metallurgical Coatings and Thin Films (ICMCTF 2014) will be held in San Diego, California, April 28–May 2, 2014 with Prof. Yip-Wah Chung, Northwestern University, Evanston, Illinois, U.S.A., as the General Chair and Prof. Claus Rebholz, University of Cyprus, Cyprus as the Program Chair.

Proceedings Editors:
Samir Aouadi
Esteban Broitman
Suneel Kodambaka
Michael Stüber
Stan Veprek

Publications Chair: Ivan Petrov